Charles Darwin


The ESEB is an academic society that brings together over 1400 evolutionary biologists from Europe and the rest of the world - researchers, academic teachers, students, as well as journalists and other persons interested in evolution. By joining you become part of this academic community.

The biennial Congress of ESEB is one of the largest scientific meetings in broadly defined evolutionary biology. Members are entitled to substantially reduced registration fees. The society also offers travel stipends to support participation of student members from economically disadvantaged countries.

The membership of ESEB includes a personal on-line subscription to the Society's journal, the Journal of Evolutionary Biology. The journal has an Open Access option, and authors who are members of the Society benefit from a 50 % discount on the Open Access fee for their papers (US$ 1500 as of 2015). Members are also entitled to a 25 % discount on all books published by Wiley-Blackwell and a 20 % discount on Ecology & Evolution books from Oxford University Press, as well as other promotional offers. Read about all discounts here.

The Society supports young researchers, e.g., by sponsoring the annual EMPSEB meeting of PhD students in evolutionary biology, and by awarding the John Maynard Smith Prize to outstanding young evolutionary biologists. It also supports outreach initiatives aiming at popularizing evolutionary biology to general public and countering creationism, especially in non-English-speaking countries. By joining, you can support these initiatives.

The ESEB is a platform of integration for evolutionary biologists from different countries. Endorsement and logistic support of the ESEB is particularly important for local evolutionary biologists in countries with little tradition and few researchers in evolution. As an active member you could also receive endorsement and support for evolution-related initiatives in your country.

To join the Society or to renew your membership, click on the Membership link on the left panel.


Outreach Initiative

Seven grants for a total of 9'818 Euros have been awarded in spring 2015. The next deadline for proposals is September 15, 2015.
Read more ...

Stearns Graduate Student Prize 2014

JEB and ESEB are delighted to announce that the winner of the inaugural 2014 graduate student prize for a paper published in JEB is Ellie Harrison, currently post-doctoral researcher at the University of York, England. Ellie will formally receive the award at the ESEB 2015 congress in Lausanne.
Read more about the Stearns Graduate Student Prize ....

John Maynard Smith Prize 2015

The winner of the John Maynard Smith Prize 2015 is Matthew Hartfield, currently a Marie Curie International Outgoing Fellow at the University of Toronto, Canada / Aarhus University, Denmark. Matthew will give the JMS 2015 prize lecture at the ESEB Congress 2015 in Lausanne and has been offered a junior fellowship at the Wissenschaftskolleg in Berlin.
Read more ....


The 21th European Meeting of PhD Students in Evolutionary Biology (EMPSEB) will take place from to September 8-13, 2015 in Stirling, Scotland.

More information is available on the EMPSEB 21 homepage.

ESEB Travel Awards 2015

The ESEB is pleased to announce the call for applications for travel stipends 2015. These stipends are for students and young scientists to attend the XVth ESEB congress in Lausanne, Switzerland in August 2015, or to the SSE meeting in Guarujá, São Paulo, Brazil, in June 2015 (Evolution 2015).
Deadline: 28 February 2015 24:00 GMT.
Detailed information is available here.

ESEB Congress 2015
The XV ESEB congress will take place from 10-14 August 2015 in Lausanne, Switzerland.
For more information please visit the congress website.
Workshop: Quantitative Evolutionary Biology -- understanding evolution with models and genomes.

This ESEB sponsored workshop took place from 14-21 September, 2014, at the Mathematics Village, Sirince, near Izmir, Turkey
Keynote lecturers: Aida Andres (MPI for Evolutionary Anthropology, Leipzig), Nick Barton (IST-Austria, Klosterneuburg), Thomas Lenormand (CEFE/CNRS, Montpellier), Nadia Singh (North Carolina State University, Raleigh)
More information is available at the workshop web site:

John Maynard Smith Prize 2014

The winner of the John Maynard Smith Prize 2014 is Laurie Stevison, currently postdoctoral fellow at UCSF, USA. Laurie will give the JMS 2014 prize lecture at the ESEB Congress 2015 in Lausanne and has been offered a junior fellowship at the Wissenschaftskolleg in Berlin.
Read more ....

Presidents' Award 2012

The recipient for the new Presidents' Award is Professor Adam Eyre-Walker of the University of Sussex. He gave an address at the Joint Congress 2012 in Ottawa.
Read more about the new award here.

ESEB membership benefits

ESEB is pleased to announce a new member discount for publication charges at the Open Access Journal Evolutionary Applications, for the length of your membership term.
Go to the Membership discounts to learn more.

New Wiley Open Access journal, Ecology and Evolution, is open for submissions

ESEB is pleased to announce a new member discount for publication charges at the Open Access Journal Ecology and Evolution.
Find more details here and read more at Wiley Open Access Blog.

The European Society for Evolutionary Biology (ESEB) is registered as a Public Benefit Organisation in The Netherlands under the tax number 8080.77.223

Last updated June 04, 2015. For suggestions or comments please send an e-mail.