Presidents' Award

In 2011, the ESEB Council decided to institute a new award, to be presented for the first time at the Joint Congress on Evolutionary Biology in Ottawa 2012. This new award is intended to recognise outstanding contributions to evolutionary biology by a mid-career scientist. The award is to be in the gift of the three Presidents in post at the time (Past-President, President and President-Elect) and so will be known as the Presidents' Award.
The recipient will give an address at the first joint meeting and therefore we expect this award to be made once every six years.

Presidents' Award 2012

We are delighted to announce that the recipient for the first Presidents' Award has been Professor Adam Eyre-Walker of the University of Sussex.

Professor Adam Eyre-Walker

Adam Eyre-Walker is one of the world’s leading researchers in the field of molecular and genome evolution. Adam was one of the pioneers of the use of DNA sequence databases to extract useful information about the patterns and processes involved in the evolution of genomes. He has consistently been an innovator in making creative use of the information extracted in this way, combining bioinformatic methods with evolutionary models based on population genetics theory. He established his reputation by his work on the evolutionary forces affecting DNA base composition and codon usage, and the use of species comparison of gene sequences to infer the rate of occurrence of deleterious mutations. He has subsequently developed new methods for estimating the frequency of adaptive changes to protein sequences, and for estimating the fitness effects of nonsynonymous mutations, by combining information on within-species polymorphism and between-species sequence divergence. He has an impressive record of publications, mostly in leading journals, and has trained many excellent postgraduate students and post-doctoral fellows.

The current Presidents
Siv Andersson, Brian Charlesworth and Roger Butlin

Last updated August 02, 2012. For suggestions or comments please send an e-mail.